top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEmily Taggart

02/01/2020

Culture at first to me was just people and their ways of life, but I realized it was so much more. Culture refers to the beliefs and ways of life that a group shares. This can be confused with society which is social structures and organizations of the people who share the same beliefs and ways of life. Ever since the beginning of time people have been social. With culture we are very influenced in our every day lives. This includes the bad and the good. So how do we avoid developing the bad in the cultures? First off you need to locate if there is any bad parts and address them. This may be hard because if we grow up in a culture sometimes it is hard because we are used to it. Also if you can't figure out what is triggering a bad culture, you can't fix it. Once you figure out the cause of the issue, then you assess your ability to impact change. Sometimes it may be hard to have a huge impact to the changes. If it is in a small group like family you can address that person. Talk to the person about how the negative consequences you are seeing and try to understand their perspective. One important thing is don't judge, listen and watch. Another possibility is being in a bigger group and not being able to do much. It depends on the situation but the best thing to do would be is to leave the situation if it is to big for you to look past. This also may be hard as you grow up in a certain culture. We grow up in certain families with certain beliefs. This affects us and our decisions. As we grow up we get to realize this and get to decide our future. Like I said though you sometimes can't accept things from certain cultures. I realized myself that lately I don't agree with my family and some things they do, but realize I do them too because I have been taught that. It is hard to change what you have been taught but if you immerse yourself in a different culture I believe you can learn and grow in that as well. So find another culture that you find better and be able to be okay with. Every place will have the good and the bad but you gotta find the best for you. Culture is apart of our lives and influences everything. But we can always choose how much it affects us. Luckily we have agency or free will to choose who or where we associate.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Father, My Hero

I found a talk about Fatherhood was from Thomas S. Monson about the priesthood and I was so inspired. It was given during the priesthood...

Comentários


bottom of page