top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEmily Taggart

My Father, My Hero

I found a talk about Fatherhood was from Thomas S. Monson about the priesthood and I was so inspired. It was given during the priesthood session but it gave me inspiration to help the men in this church. I wanted to share a quote from that talk; "Come, all ye sons of God who have received the priesthood, let us consider our callings; let us reflect on our responsibilities; let us determine our duty; and let us follow Jesus Christ, our Lord. While we may differ in age, in custom, or in nationality, we are united as one in our priesthood callings." I loved this, he is calling all men to understand their duty and to follow Christ in doing so. The men in our lives are so important and it is so important to remember that. I had five points in this talk which I thought so important. One was to consider your callings I thought this is so important to fathers in general. Both men and women have important roles and I think men do not understand their roles which is so important. Women put down men when they aren't perfect but maybe both need to understand their role and how important they are. Another point was that we need to follow Jesus Christ. I loved how important and how this was touched on. Each and everyone of us human beings need to follow Jesus Christ. He gave us the perfect example of the perfect person. I think he is a great example for a father. Be able to love everyone is so important. Another thing is that each man has a responsibility as a priesthood holder, he has immense power and I don't think enough men understand that. I think the mans role has been forgotten. They are just sent to work so people forget them. This should not be happening.


I wanted to talk about my experience with being raised by my dad. My father was a very hard worker because he had never gotten a college degree. He was a driver for many companies. I rarely saw my dad. Every 2 weeks or even more I would see him, I missed him a lot though. When he would come home we would have the most amazing times. I would always look forward to seeing my dad. But unfortunately I wasn't able to see him often. We lived in California and it was very expensive. Both my parents worked. Overall I wish I had my dad more often because I know I would be able to have a better understanding of what a father should do if I had one around more. Now today our relationship is strained because he feels he missed out and I do not go to him a lot. I go to my mom for problems and he feels left out. That's why I said earlier why I felt that Dads have a more important role than we think. I felt like I missed out on that father daughter experience because work got in the way. As a child I never went to my dad for things, I only had mom around. I think also having a father around would've prevented certain things in my life from not happening. I am so grateful for my dad and what he has done for me and my family. He has always been selfless even though that costed relationships with his kids. He has never not worked a day of his life. He constantly is going to make a better life for his family. That is one thing I learned though from my dad. Always work hard, and I am so grateful. My dad will always be my hero even though growing up was hard. I knew what he was doing and am so glad that he did. There are things I would like to change from my past but I can only now control the future for my kids and give them a life I didn't have.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Communication

Everyone knows about that one of the most important things in a relationship is communication. Being able to have a relationship means...

Comments


bottom of page