top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEmily Taggart

Communication

Everyone knows about that one of the most important things in a relationship is communication. Being able to have a relationship means you had to communicate to get somewhere. But for some reason people always have a problem with it right?


The problem with communication is we can't share our thoughts. We expect people to read our minds like Twilight at the end. Understand how we feel when they say things and what they should do. Expectations of communication can be very bad for a relationship if it is not communicated. How can we make sure we don't have to intense expectations? You have to be aware of all your expectations for each other and have a mutually agreement. Expectations without agreement equals frustration. This means communication! Crazy how everything that we talk about ends in not communicating.


I am going to talk about my own experience with communication. I recently got engaged and wow I was not prepared to share some of the expectations I had which I didn't even know about. Sometimes we both expect things and then we get in arguments which we end up finding the problem was communication. Also one of the problems is when we bring up those critics. It is so important to do it at the right time where both of you can have the spirit to guide the conversation. Guiding with the spirit helps you have a more loving relationship. What would the Lord have us do? Express love and gratitude for each other before meeting/counsel. It is very vulnerable to communicate as well. It makes you stare at yourself and adjust things. It is vulnerable for your partner too because you look at their problems and bring it to their faces. It is so important to understand that this is very difficult for some people as well because sometimes people aren't used to looking inwards.


Thoughts and feelings are real things, they make us either go crazy or be so happy. It is so difficult to include someone in that right? One thing that I learned this week that was cool that mad means crazy in England. Here we say mad as they are angry, but when you think about it when you are mad you are crazy. You can't have the spirit when mad so you aren't following Christ. I thought it was an interesting insight that when you are mad you are kinda crazy. Helped me kinda think about how I get mad and riled up. It is impressive that I can relate to that and also agree.


Just I feel like a rule of thumb is be kind to people, treat them with kindness especially your spouse. Relationships are hard and difficult. It isn't something easy, but that is how we learn and grow. Overall, we need to discuss with the Lord for guidance. Ask him for help in hard situations and he will be there. He loves all of us and has his hands in our lives. He has the truth and can help lead your life in the best way possible.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Father, My Hero

I found a talk about Fatherhood was from Thomas S. Monson about the priesthood and I was so inspired. It was given during the priesthood...

Comentários


bottom of page