top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEmily Taggart

Marriage and Family

Updated: Jan 26, 2020

Class for Family Relations and my journey of growing my knowledge while in the class


 

01/18/2020

The first week of this class was already life changing. I was most fascinated with some of the trends lately in the world. To name a few; Pre-marital sex, living alone, delayed marriage, divorce rates, and births to unmarried women. All of these are on an incline, continuing to rise. As you look at the list I asked myself why and or what is causing these to increase so much?




01/25/2020

What kind of patterns do you see in your family? This is a question that popped into my head this week. I actually texted my family to ask if they felt like whenever we got together we would return to how we acted growing up because it was familiar, and if so what role did they feel they needed to fill. I realized we feel we had to change, we have to take on that role. The fascinating thing is we get to make our own families and get to change and do what we want. We get to set boundaries with the families we make. Also if you feel you need to change something in your family with siblings is to address that problem with THAT person you have a problem with. One important things in families and in relationships is that we need to talk to one another when there is a problem. Don't add a third party, go to the people who are apart of the problem. That is the best way to communicate. I don't understand or how we learn that. Growing up I learned that you go and gossip about people when you have a problem. Not to address it and go to the person. It makes me wonder how much of a difference it would make in the world if we talked to the people about the problem. I see online politicians or celebrities making side comments about others when not necessary and that causes even more problems. I feel it creates more problems then solving them. People don't seem to know how to handle emotions and how to address. Maybe the world can change one day? We can only hope. Another interesting thing we talked about that got me thinking was how children acted, and the reasons behind that. Children are very observant with us, they realize things maybe even faster than we do. One thing I connected was that teaching kids what is right and wrong is similar how I train my puppy. Positive reinforcement, but you can get that wrong too. If you pay attention to a bad behavior accidentally and then they continue that action. Teaching kids how to act properly is so very hard. Same with my pup, once I was cutting her nails and I accidentally went to far and cut her wick. Which made her paw bleed. I screamed and started crying for her because I knew I hurt her. After that she now is TERRIFIED of the clippers. She will run away and cry because of how I reacted after I kinda hurt her. This is now something I have to train out of her slowly. See after you teach something wrong the taking steps backwards is a very slow process. Slowly introducing them to the right action takes a long time. So what I do is I pull out the clippers and give her a treat. Then put them back and give a treat. Slowly associating the clippers with good. Then take another step and pull them out set on the paw then put them back. But this is over weeks and months of slowly introducing this as a good thing. I feel this is similar with kids. You have to slowly but surely teach them it's okay. Overall raising kids is so difficult, I don't think anyone can be enough prepared because it is a unique situation. That is the beauty of it. It grows your knowledge and love for human beings.





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Father, My Hero

I found a talk about Fatherhood was from Thomas S. Monson about the priesthood and I was so inspired. It was given during the priesthood...

Comentarios


bottom of page